RESOLUTION TO CONDEMN THE POLITICAL PERSECUTION OF PRESIDENT DONALD J. TRUMP

Sponsored by Casey Gale
Adopted by the State Central Committee, August 19, 2023

WHEREAS, President Donald J. Trump has been corruptly and unlawfully targeted by Alvin Bragg, Fani Willis, Jack Smith, through indictments based upon political grounds; and

WHEREAS, The 14th amendment guarantees fair and equal treatment under the law-for all. Our justice system demands that we investigate crimes in search of perpetrators, rather than investigating citizens in search of crimes, for political gain; and

WHEREAS, The Fifth Amendment guarantees citizens are innocent until proven guilty; and Donald J. Trump has been innocent of any and all crimes he's been accused of; and

WHEREAS, The Utah Republican Party believes in free and fair elections and justice through equality of rights and equal treatment under the law; and

WHEREAS, The Utah Republican Party believes that campaigning for elected office should not include the weaponization of the federal government and criminal justice system; and

RESOLVED, The Utah Republican Party calls on our federal delegation, Willard Mitt Romney, Mike Lee, Blake Moore, Burgess Owens, John Curtis, Chris Stewart and/or any representative who represents Congressional District 2 to condemn the continuous political persecution of President Donald J. Trump; and

RESOLVED, The Utah Republican Party shall issue a public statement that condemns the political persecution of Donald J. Trump; and

RESOLVED, the Utah Republican Party strongly supports GOP legislators and the governor in passing legislation to ban Central Bank Digital Currency in the state and to protect the financial freedom and privacy of Utahns from further encroachments.

CO-SPONSORS

Teena Horlacher, Jason Hackett, Robert McEntee, Thomas Young, Becky Hope, Catherine Richardson, Brandon Beckham, Kevin Richardson, Olivia Dawn, Jonathan Harvey, Carolyn Phippen, David Pyne, Chad Saunders, Lisa Marble, Ben Soholt, David Yonan, Wendy Heart, Juan Valladares, Joe Levi, Jennifer Garner, Alexis Ence, Haylee Caplin, Connie Peterson, Marjorie Haun, Blaine Nay, Mari Eddy, Sheila Stubbs-Knight, Ginni Brooks, Nicole Perkins, Gunnar Thordersen